The Christmas Gravadlax

This is going to be my last post for a week as I’m working away and won’t be in GarysKitchen.

But before I head off, I’m getting some curing on the go, so it can be working it’s magic whilst I am slaving away elsewhere.

I’m going for a simple Gravlax, Gravlox or Gravadlax what ever you prefer to call it.

So to the Gravadlax (my preference).

I’ve made Gravadlax previously and it is really simple and when you search the internet there are loads of different recipes but basically you need salt and sugar for the cure and then some flavourings.

Here’s the recipe for GarysKitchen Gravadlax.

One side of Salmon

150g of salt – not the finest Maldon Sea Salt but also not table salt as it is too harsh. I’m using a half and half mix of table salt and sea salt.

150g of sugar – you can use caster sugar but I’m going for a half and half mix again of caster and dark muscavado sugar.  I think this will give a good maple flavour?

A bunch of dill

A slightly smaller bunch of tarragon

Lemon zest and some lemon juice

Some crushed juniper berries

A few splashes of vodka – Gravadlax is Swedish after all

I’m also going to add some red food colouring as I going to see if I can dye the outside of the salmon red so it looks good when sliced up.

First make up your cure by combining the salt, sugar and flavourings together.

Then skin and remove the pin bones from your salmon fillet

Cut the salmon fillet in half length ways and lay out on a a large piece of cling film

Liberally cover each side in the cure and put one fillet on top of the other and roll up tightly in cling film so you have a salmon cure sandwich.

Then  assemble your makeshift press.

I used another tray then balanced some bricks and heavy jars on top to provide an even weight across the salmon.

Now into the curing shed or fridge and leave for 24 hours.  You can tell it is ready as the salmon becomes firmer and has lost some liquid.

The red food colouring did the trick and the Gravadlax has a lovely reddish colour on the outside contrasting with the orange flesh on the inside. You can achieve the same effect and get added flavour by using grated beetroot.

The Gravadlax is now ready to eat and can be kept in a sealed container in the fridge for over a week but the great thing about this is that you can freeze it so it will be prepared already for Christmas. Simple!

Posted on December 3, 2011, in Christmas 2011, Simple dishes. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

Leave a Reply

